如何解决伦敦的住房问题: 建筑师Peter理发呼吁结束有权购买和首都周围100英里的城市


砖是建筑师手中绝对美丽, 城市规划和住房活动家彼得·巴伯. 为 30 多年来,他的公司, 彼得·巴伯建筑师, 一直帮助再生伦敦的郊区累与包括软砖外墙和丰富多彩的友好中层风格, 瞬间可爱的庭院为特色的拱门和美化.

他的房屋已被证明是很大的打击保障性住房租户. 现在,他吸引私人发展商的关注, 太, 特别是他实践的近作展设计博物馆在肯辛顿后, 这展示了他提出的“100英里城市”圈伦敦作为我们的住房问题修复.

低- 通过资本的scruffier边缘中层城市编织, 球迷把它比作连接到轨道单轨线性地中海山城. 这是一个点头理发的现代早些年, 用限制与理查德·罗杰斯和威尔·艾尔索普工作.

理发一直生活在布赖顿, 他爱一个城市, 对于 18 年份, 在“旁边站一个微小的铁路山寨”. 他上下班往返伦敦,在本周留在他的工作室平, 要回落在周末去布赖顿, 在那里他的前生活与他们的两个十几岁的孩子.

改变心态: 彼得·巴伯认为,我们需要考虑住房的“基础设施, 不是投资或退休金”,以解决住房危机 (莫利 斯腾伯格)

“是布莱顿维多利亚壳体中的大师,“ 他说. “当我们有了孩子,我们负担不起继续留在伦敦, 让我们感动了. 你可以看到在露台的房子每一个变化, 那些华丽的海滨豪宅, 所有的梦幻般的细节. 如何拐弯, 如何把一个飘窗出. 他们是随处可见。”

哈克尼家

理发是花了大量的时间来重塑维多利亚式建筑, 从露台和背到后面的房子, 到救济院和大厦块. 他创办了获奖公司在 1989 并且它有它的第一个大的打击,在哈克尼白色渲染唐尼布鲁克区 - 这是入围带屋顶露台的房屋的密集排列 2006 RIBA斯特林大奖.

国王十字HQ

这种做法买了自己的维多利亚式露台的房子,印花厂后面国王十字 2002 “在一个非常好的价格才变得过于疯狂”. 这个精明的举动, “最好的事情,我们曾经做过”, 绝缘的经济浪潮的公司,给它自由去追求项目团队首选. 但这支球队并不仅仅使建筑物. 其成员做音乐在他们的国王十字办公室的地下室.

“我们甚至得到一个鼓包那里,在他的店面会议室”笑着理发师, 其中住房计划的纸板模型填满窗口, 墙壁和桌子. “球队在楼下和果酱消失. 同一个梦想是我们将开始一个爵士乐俱乐部。”这将有理发吉他或钢琴, 这两个他扮演. 他有九名工作并处理“10 12 项目”每年, 目前正在研究有关 700 整个伦敦的家. “我们已经看到了太多的做法失去他们的方式,他们已经长大,“ 他说.

如果办公室认为“好心studenty的”, 那是因为理发一直保持了他的教学, 对于每周一天, 在威斯敏斯特大学演讲了世界各地的. “它使头脑敏捷,“ 他说. 他从小就吉尔福德附近, 但“感觉就像一个伦敦人”,描述他的职业生涯,作为“从郊区逃生”.

墨西哥建筑师和工程师路易斯·巴拉甘是一个关键的启示. “他的工作是关于坚固, 块, 持久性, 颜色. 这些主题通过我们的工作运行, 从早期的渲染项目,一直到砖项目,我们现在都在做.

“这是非常明显的今天什么被建在城市道路和沃克斯豪尔, 九榆树, 巴特西. 他们是“帧”建筑 - 主要是玻璃“。

伦敦需要更多的质量保障性住房

理发住房传道希望结束有权购买. 他还希望租管重新和一个“庞大”的社会住房计划,以解决住房危机. 这是他不断在演讲和文章,多年来发挥的主题 - 它结束了一些非常苍老撒切尔陈词滥调. 伦敦企业疲于应付的工作人员谁不能住在伦敦可能会同意.

Q&A06-7.jpg

为单层的马厩家园 60岁以上的: 彼得·巴伯建筑师的社会住房计划包括: 伯布里奇 关闭在咆哮 & 达格南 (莫利 斯腾伯格)

“我们需要考虑住房基础设施, 不是投资或退休金,”巴伯说:. “问题的心脏当然承受能力. 一个有效的社会住房计划将淹没系统,供应和降低价格. 和右去除买的是必要的,因此我们可以保持社会住房我们显然需要“。

但对于好的设计一个战士,他担心,地方当局齿轮在提供更多的保障性住房的质量可能会受到影响. “我担心的是,如果工作是交给私人开发商和承包商, 我们是否会得到质量。”他不断地和还担心质量约规定的设计标准。“每个人都需要一个12平方米的卧室和一个20平方米的客厅的想法是不正确的. 我宁愿把更多的空间变成一个大客厅,并有在我家的小卧室. 但你不能做到这一点。”

住房和社会

理发建筑旨在愈合,庆祝城市,人们如何使用它. “建筑在伦敦的百分之七十是住房. 这就是围绕着广场, 空间压缩到街道. 我们认为,首先我们计划创造的空间和连接他们与我们的邻居.

“有住房和我们有什么样的社会之间的连接. 南非人住门化合物. 你已经创造了一种种族隔离. 在一个良好的综合性城市人对彼此可见. 它们共享公共空间,使更连贯的社会。”

但你如何说服当地民众和政治家接受他们的郊区需要变得致密,以帮助住房危机? 他是未受影响. “我花了一辈子做. 从在哈克尼到麦格拉思路唐尼布鲁克季度在去年纽汉姆. 它可以创建住房也是改善环境.

“我们的私人开发商在北环方案 [在伦敦站点传输] 将保护现有的房子从六车道高速公路. 这将从根本上改善邻居的享受他们的花园能力,将使 100 新房.

“也, 我们的许多房屋都是不一般的公寓楼. 如果人们听到有将是发展和你说, “我们要建立一些露台住房和你就可以通过有走,”他们呼吸了一口气。”

理发的乐观和热情Brexit仅次于伦敦的最大的问题是传染病和他的项目很受欢迎. 这也许是时间让他松与他的大思路大些方案.

重用内容



源链接

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest

How to fix London’s housing problems: architect Peter Barber calls for an end to Right to Buy and a 100-mile city around the capital


Brick is definitely beautiful in the hands of architect, urbanist and housing campaigner Peter Barber. For 30 years his firm, Peter Barber Architects, has been helping to regenerate London’s tired suburbs with a friendly mid-rise style that includes soft brick façades and colourful, instantly likeable courtyards that feature arches and landscaping.

His homes have proved a big hit with social housing tenants. Now he’s attracting the attention of private developers, too, especially after his practice’s recent exhibition at the Design Museum in Kensington, which showcased his proposed “100-Mile City” circling London as a fix for our housing problems.

A low- to mid-rise city weaving through the capital’s scruffier edges, fans liken it to a linear Mediterranean hill town linked to an orbital monorail. It’s a nod to Barber’s modernist earlier years, with stints working with Richard Rogers and Will Alsop.

Barber has lived in Brighton, a city he loves, for 18 years, in “a tiny railway cottage next to the station”. He commutes to London and stays in his studio flat during the week, going back down at weekends to Brighton, where his ex lives with their two teenage children.

Changing mindsets: Peter Barber believes we need to think of housing “as infrastructure, not an investment or a pension” to solve the housing crisis (Morley von Sternberg)

“Brighton is a masterclass in Victorian housing,” he says. “When we had the kids we couldn’t afford to stay in London, so we moved out. You can see every variation on the terrace house, those magnificent seafront mansions, all the fantastic details. How to turn a corner, how to push a bay window out. They’re everywhere you look.”

Hackney homes

Barber has devoted a lot of time to reinventing Victorian buildings, from terrace and back-to-back houses, to almshouses and mansion blocks. He founded his award-winning firm in 1989 and it had its first big hit with the white-rendered Donnybrook Quarter in Hackney — a dense arrangement of homes with rooftop patios that was shortlisted for the 2006 RIBA Stirling Prize.

King’s Cross HQ

The practice bought its own Victorian terrace house with printworks behind in King’s Cross in 2002 “at a very good price before it got too bonkers”. This canny move, “the best thing we ever did”, insulated the firm against economic tides and gave it freedom to pursue projects the team preferred. But this team doesn’t just make buildings. Its members make music in the basement of their King’s Cross office.

“We’ve even got a drum kit down there,” laughs Barber in his shopfront meeting room, where cardboard models of housing schemes fill the window, walls and tables. “The team disappear downstairs and jam. One dream is we’ll start a jazz club.” It’ll have Barber on guitar or piano, both of which he plays. He has nine staff and handles “10 to 12 projects” every year, at the moment working on about 700 homes across London. “We’ve seen too many practices lose their way as they have grown,” he says.

If the office feels “kind of studenty”, then it is because Barber has kept up his teaching, for one day a week, at the University of Westminster and has lectured all over the world. “It keeps the mind agile,” he says. He grew up near Guildford, but “feels like a Londoner” and describes his career as “an escape from suburbia”.

Mexican architect and engineer Luis Barragán is a key inspiration. “His work was about solidity, mass, permanence, colour. These themes run through our work, from the earlier rendered projects right up to the brick projects we are doing now.

“It is very distinct from what gets built today in City Road and in Vauxhall, Nine Elms, Battersea. They are ‘frame’ buildings — predominantly glass.”

London needs more quality social housing

Barber the housing evangelist wants an end to Right to Buy. He also wants rent controls reintroduced and a “massive” social housing programme to tackle the housing crisis. These are themes he has constantly played on in lectures and essays over the years — an end to some pretty hoary Thatcherite shibboleths. London businesses struggling to keep staff who cannot afford to live in London might agree.

Q&A06-7.jpg

Single-storey mews homes for over-60s: Peter Barber Architects’ social housing schemes include Burbridge Close in Barking & Dagenham (Morley von Sternberg)

“We need to think of housing as infrastructure, not an investment or a pension,” says Barber. “The heart of the problem is of course affordability. An efficient social housing programme would flood the system with supply and reduce prices. And removing Right to Buy is essential so we can keep the social housing we clearly need.”

But as a warrior for good design he worries that quality might suffer as local authorities gear up to deliver more social housing. “I’m concerned that if the work is handed to private developers and contractors, whether we’ll get the quality.” He worries about quality continually and also about prescriptive design standards .“The idea that everybody needs a 12sqm bedroom and a 20sqm living room is not true. I would rather put more space into a big living room and have smaller bedrooms in my house. But you can’t do that.”

Housing and society

Barber buildings are intended to heal and celebrate the city and how people use it. “Seventy per cent of the building in London is housing. It is what surrounds squares, compresses space into streets. We think first about the spaces our schemes create and the connection they make with our neighbours.

“There is a connection between housing and the kind of society we have. People in South Africa live in gated compounds. You have created a kind of apartheid. In a well-integrated city people are visible to one another. They share public space and that enables a more coherent society.”

But how do you persuade local people and politicians to accept their suburb needs to be densified to help the housing crisis? He is unfazed. “I’ve spent a lifetime doing it. From Donnybrook Quarter in Hackney to McGrath Road in Newham last year. It is possible to create housing but also improve the environment.

“Our scheme on the North Circular for a private developer [on a Transport for London site] will protect existing houses from a six-lane motorway. It will radically improve neighbours’ ability to enjoy their gardens and will make 100 new homes.

“Also, a lot of our houses are not the usual apartment blocks. If people hear there is going to be development and you say, ‘We’re going to build some terrace housing and you’ll be able to walk through there,’ they breathe a sigh of relief.”

Barber’s optimism and enthusiasm for London’s biggest issue after Brexit is infectious and his projects are popular. It might be time to let him loose on some bigger schemes with his bigger ideas.

Reuse content



Source link

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterEmail this to someoneShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Pin on Pinterest